I’ve been living in Guatemala for almost a month now. My mom has been asking a lot of questions about my when my next blog post will be and when I’m going to post my pictures, so I figured it’s about time I do both. These are for you, mom!

 

img_0225

My neighborhood in Xela, where I attended Spanish immersion school. Miss it!!

 

img_0138

The view from my 2 hour hike to the tip top of Volcano Chicabal.

 

img_0127

I’m a sucker for some pretty flowers.

 

img_0086

1 million stairs. Or at least it felt like it.

 

img_0126

The view from the hike. The flowers were left over from a Mayan ceremony- obviously a kodak moment.

 

 

 

img_0042

One of my first outings in Xela- the cemetery. Almost everyone is buried above ground in these colorful graves.

 

 

img_0048

A very fancy grave sight.

 

img_0054

This was the view on the walk to the Fuentes Georginas. Just the right amount of spooky.

 

img_0140

This picture doesn’t show for it, but these waves were gnarly.

 

img_0218

Beach side view from a stunning black sand beach.

 

img_0217

I stole this coconut from a friend just to get this picture…worth it.

 

img_0148

This dog might have been mangy, but friendly nonetheless. I named him Arthur.

 

img_0250

A night out of karaoke and shots with my Celas Maya friends. I miss you people dearly!!!

 

img_0258

A woman without a man is like a fish without a bicycle. Captured this pic while in the bathroom at a bar in Xela- loved it.

 

img_0242

Spanish scrabble on my last day of class with my dear teacher Carlos.

 

img_0221

Countless women with countless stories from Trama in Xela.

 

img_0262

First sighting of Lake Atitlan. It’s good to be back!

 

 

img_0294

The swinging bridge to Nueva Providencia. Beautiful but a little scary…I’m lying, a lotta scary.

 

 

 

img_0296

Sweet sweet Jennifer snacking on some tasty watermelon. Love this little one!

 

img_0298

A couple of awesome kiddos from one of the stove sights. Adorable!

 

Ok- sorry it’s not more but that’s all I have to show for this month. I have been really busy doing construction work with the mission and taking pictures often slips my mind. Next month I will try to post again with more photos. Anyway, for those who are wondering, I am absolutely loving my time in Guatemala. I have been truly touched by the people, culture, and work I have been involved with in my short time here so far. (to make a long story short) 🙂

Thanks for reading once again. I hope everyone is well at home. Until next time!

Mattie

3 thoughts on “Mi Vida Guatemalteca

  1. Beautiful pictures! I enjoyed reading about you adventures. Look forward to what you have to share next month. Yes that bridge looked very scary!

    Like

Leave a Reply

